Ferguson, Missouri and Proof that Racism is Very Much Alive

I tend to try to stay away from anything political in this blog. I feel that it is not really the place for that. With that being Sid, however, I could not refrain from commenting on the tragic death of Mike Brown. I have heard people (a lot of them on Fox News) complain that they are “tired of hearing about race” and are angry that “blacks are turning this into a race issue”. Really? You’re sick of hearing about racism, this week? How do you think blacks, Hispanics, Middle Easterners, and women feel?

The problem, the real tragedy is that what happened to Mike Brown is common. People are criticizing the people in Ferguson for rioting. This is perhaps not the correct method, but you get to the point where you strike back with force. Tupac once said, “if you know in this hotel room they have food every day and I knock on the door. Every day, they open the door to let me see the party, let me see that they throwin’ salami, throw in’ food around, tellin’ me there’s no food. Every day, I’m standing outside tryin’ to sing my way in- ‘We are weak, please let us in. We’re weak, please let us in.’ After about a week, the song is gonna change to, ‘We’re hungry, we need some food.’ After two, three weeks, it’s like, ‘Give me some of the food! I’m breaking down the door.’ After a year, it’s like, ‘I’m pickin’ the lock, commin’ through the door blastin’.’ It’s like, ‘I’m hungry.’ You reached your level, you don’t want any more. We asked ten years ago, we were asking with the Panthers, we were asking in the Civil Rights Movement. Now, those who were asking are all dead or in jail, now what we gonna do? And shouldn’t we be angry?” This of course was a statement from over 20 years ago. That anger has only multiplied.

It is the same with sexism. I don’t know what is worse, that there is racism and sexism, or that there are people out there who think that there isn’t.  There gets to be appoint where you get tired of rising above the hate, of turning the other cheek. Thus the riots. Too many young black men are shot, while unarmed by police. What have learned since Rodney King? Anything?

I once wrote an article called, “Addiction – The Great Equalizer”. As an addict and as a woman, I feel the hate, the outrage, and the pain of the residents of Ferguson. I have faced sexism at every turn. You are stupid because you are a woman. If ypu prove that you are not, you are being a show off. You are obviously incapable of running a job, but if you take control, you are bossy, a bitch, or worst yet, you want to be a man.

I have also faced racial profiling as an addict in all black neighborhoods in Baltimore. You are automatically pulled over being white because you must be a drug addict. Never mind the whites who actually do live there, or who are visiting friends. Once you are pulled over, they instantly bring back up. They search the car no matter what. You are a criminal, thus ypu must be committing a crime.

It sucks, but I only face this in ghetto areas. Blacks, Hispanics, middle Easterners, they face it everywhere. Ferguson was just a sad,tragic reminder of how little progress we have actually made.

 

Leave a Reply

