My Fault

It’s not my fault

You brought me here against my will

It’s not my fault

You made me do it

Tied my hands, shakled my feet

This place that I left

A million times before

Here I am

Here, where I always knew that I was inept

I just never knew that you were keeping score

I have seen this all before

Does this bore you too?

You had to hold my hands

Keep them steady

It’s not my fault

You brought me her against my will

It’s not my fault

You made me do it

Tied my hands, bound my legs

I am blackened by your shadow

Yes sir, do whatever you want

I believed in you

And you’re so shallow

I listened to you

I believed all your shit

I should have known that you were a lost cause

I came with you

On your demented trip

Did my integrity have to be the price?

The cost to make you feel like a man?

It’s not my fault

You brought me here

It was against my will

It’s not my fault

You made me do it

It’s not my fault

You tied my arms

You stabbed my heart

But it has never been my fault

5 thoughts on “My Fault

  1. I don’t know if asking you to tell me about your experience while writing this is ok or not. I’m a bit tentative to ask. Seems as though I’m asking. Ok- I asked.
    Please don’t take offense to my comment. I’m just interested in the reason you wrote this poem.

    Like

    1. I wrote it years ago after I had been raped by a guy who I thought was my best friend. Thing was, I believed everything he would say about “raging against the machine” and we would talk about how we had both been molested as kids. I just thought he was so special and different from everyone else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

