A Quiet Fire

The fire that burns deep within
The fire that burns deep within

Tearing myself down

Down to the floor

No voice to speak from anymore

I’ve even forgotten

Why I used to care at all

I used to strive for something

Something that I know is not there

Watching everyone

Buzzing around me

And I’m invisible

A forgotten piece of the machinery

Staying quiet is an art I’ve mastered

Learning to run

Faster and faster

Hoping to bleed, to feel

Even if it hurts

To let me know

That the process works

I light myself on fire

Hoping that someone sees

Or hoping the flames burn out the pain

That is living deep within me

Leave a Reply

